Swapping PL while Xillinux is running

Questions and discussions about the Xillybus IP core and drivers

Swapping PL while Xillinux is running

Postby Luis »

Hi all,

I'm a beginner in the use of these systems. I have a zedboard and I'm currently using xillinux.

I have succesfully followed the instructions of the tutorial (SD with boot.bin, s.o. image, devicetree.dtb and xillydemo.bit). I have created a webserver on Linux and I'm using the fifo to test the system with a little eco example and it actually works.

I want to change the PL while the system is running so I'm trying to swap the /dev/xdevcfg with another .bit with the new logic. Here is my problem now: I don't know if it is possible

I have tried many options and none of them have worked. (I'm using vivado and sdk to generate the new .bit and to change this format to .bit.bin with bootgen). I have read in the xillinx website that I need a .bif image. This one contains this: "bootloader]<fsbl_name>.elf / <pl_bitstream_name>.bit / <u-boot_name>.elf" and generates the .bin.bit. file. Anyway when I do cat xxxx.bit.bin > /dev/xdevcfg the PS stops working.

My new logic is simple and doesn't require extra modules. Do I need to change anything else apart from .bit?

I apologize in advance if there is already a similar topic but I haven't found a solution yet. I will really apreciate any kind of help.

Regards,
Luis
Luis

Re: Swapping PL while Xillinux is running

Postby support »

Hello,

Reconfiguration of the PL part is in theory supported by Xilinx, but I haven't yet heard about anyone who has been able to do this in a stable and repeatable manner. I suggest asking about this in Xilinx' forum.

The inherent problem is that the PL part interacts with the processor via the AXI bus. If the PL is reconfigured while a bus transaction is requested from the PL part, or it was in the middle of any such transaction, basically anything can happen. Most likely, the CPU will hang.